Lochhournhead Estate was originally the working farm for Glenquoich Estate owned by the Ellice Family until 1956 when it came into the Gordon family after Loch Quoich was dammed and raised by 100 ft,  completely changing the nature of the Glen Garry forever.

Since 1956, Sandy Gordon (John’s father) retained the farm which was lived in worked by the MacRea brothers until their retirement in their late 70s. This was when the stables and the granary, which had been home to the Lochhournhead school since 1875 and still contained the school map, were converted to accommodate the Glenquoich Estate stalker and his young family and the farmhouse was rented out separately as a holiday home.

Latterly, Jo & Margaret Potter took over the stables from their son and began to offer B&B to walkers and tea & cake to day trippers which is where our story started.

Aware of Kinloch Hourn’s long and rich history, we are working to restore and nurture the land, cherish our ecology and value the outstanding beauty and nature of the surrounding area.

We hope we are able to share some of our vision with you all.

John & Harriet Gordon